top of page

cool upcoming study

This is an abstract of a paper that has not yet been published by Heather Demerest and others from CU Boulder. Here is a link to an article posted about the study: https://www.colorado.edu/asmagazine/2017/12/03/women-who-feel-dissimilar-philosophers-tend-leave-field-study-finds

I recently had a conversation with one of my professors in the Philosophy department at CU about this issue. I felt as if there was not a place for my voice in certain philosophical discussion so I brought up this issue to him directly. After speaking with him I returned to contributing in class just as I had been doing at the beginning of the course. He told me about his experience in the PhD program and how few women were left in the end. He wants his classroom to be a place for all voices to be heard so he gives the floor to whomever wants to speak without putting pressure on those who do not talk as much. Together, students and professors have to build this environment for those who contribute less to ask the questions that are usually unasked.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page